The Steve McGibbon Trophy

The Steve McGibbon Trophy is named in memory of a hugely respected orienteer and stalwart of Lagan Valley Orienteers, who unfortunately died in 2006 aged only 51.

The trophy is not focused on competition performance, rather the award is considered as recognition of the person or group thought to have provided the most outstanding contribution to the club’s affairs in the previous year.

Nominations should be sent to the Secretary, Cecil Armstrong, or 078 1587 2010, in advance of the Annual General Meeting at Tollymore National Outdoor Centre on 23rd March 2020. Voting will take place at the AGM.


Steve came to Orienteering through the original Queen’s University club and was a foundation member of LVO. Since then he was a permanent presence on the club committee serving as Honorary Treasurer, apart from a period as Chairman. But it was not his financial skills alone which made him such a valued member of the committee (he was, after all, trained in accountancy) but rather his down-to-earth attitude when collective flights of fancy were being taken on all sorts of topics. Steve was a man of few words but what he had to say was always worth listening to.

Steve didn’t aspire to achieving giddy height in terms of performance; he was rather a journeyman club member, playing a full part in all our activities and, with his sharp mind and knowledge of the technicalities of the sport, took on a large share of the planning and controlling functions, right up to Irish Championship level. It was a measure of the man that the week before he died in 2006 he was organising for staff at the Marie Curie Centre to come along and try an orienteering event.

Steve is survived by his wife Christine and sons David and Robert.

Previous winners

2019       The Gamble family

2018       Cecil Armstrong

2017       Jeff Johnston / Harry Bell

2016       Mark Pruzina

2015       Colin Henderson

2014       Alan Elwood

2013       Alan Gartside

2012       Harold White

2011       Gordon & Marlene Stephens

2010       The Baxter Family

2009       Áine McCann

2008       Stephen Gilmore

2007       Ivan Millar

One Reply to “The Steve McGibbon Trophy”

  1. Aargh! The Steve McGibbon Trophy award during the club AGM is on Saturday 21st March (not the 23rd!) in Tollymore National Outdoor Centre after the Spring Cup event in Tollymore.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *